A Newsletter About Everything Redis

Issue #53
The Analysts Edition
August 6th, 2015

# include i.h

As usual, an unusually hot August is at the door and everybody is going on vacation, returning from one and/or before going on the next one. With all this vacationing around, it is a small wonder that I have at least a few items to report on from the Redis-verse – I hope that this newsletter finds you somewhere nice.

Also, we’ve just finished putting the excellent book “Redis in Action” online at the Redis Labs Academy. That means that we’re now looking for the next project, so I’d love to get your ideas if you have any 🙂

Redis Trivia: Sorted sets use an IEEE 754 floating point number for scores and can represent precisely the integers -(2^53)..+(2^53)

Cheers,
Itamar

Be social, tweet about Redis Watch: I’m reading Redis Watch #53: https://redislabs.com/redis-watch-archive/53

int main(int argc, char **argv) {

Sidekiq Enterprise (3 minutes to read)

Congrats to Mike Perham @mperham who has just added another sibling to the Sidekiq family. Besides changes to the license and an appropriate price model, the Enterprise version boasts four new major features: rate limiting, periodic jobs, unique jobs and leader election.

Heroku, Puma, Redis, Sidekiq and Connection Limits (<1 minute to read)

A sweet little guide for figuring out how many connections you need to configure for your Sidekiq deployment on Heroku since all free Redis add-ons’ tiers are stringy with their connections (excluding Redis Cloud’s generous 30 connections allotment) – from Bryan Rite @bryanrite.

Getting Started with Python Eve on IBM Bluemix™ #Python #howto

Sanjay Joshi @boilerupnc shows how it easy it is to get started with Eve, the Python REST framework, on IBM Bluemix™ @IBMBluemix with two of my favorite services: MongoDB from MongoLab™ @mongolab and Redis Cloud from us.

#HibernateOGM Redis module #Java #foss

Mark Paluch @mp911de had contributed a Redis module to the Hibernate Object/Grid Mapper that Gunnar Morling @gunnarmorling will include in the next release as tech preview – your feedbacks, I’m positive, are welcome.

OH Liviu Costea @clm160 > what flush means in different contexts #hibernate and #redis 🙂 http://stackoverflow.com/questions/30916842/redis-cache-is-flushed-periodically-without-consent <- #faceplam

Flipper: Insanely Easy Feature Flipping #Ruby #foss

In his quest to build for @GitHub a feature flag gizmo that doesn’t require Redis, John Nunemaker @jnunemaker had put together an uber platform that connects to many backends (Redis among them, of course ;)).

Redis for Security Data: SecurityScorecard JVM Redis Usage #Java #slides

The slidedeck that had accompanied Tim Spann @PaaSDev‘s talk from SecurityScorecard @security_score at the recent Redis NYC meetup are online – not quite like being there but better than naught. More notes: http://www.mongodbdev.com/2015/08/05/redis-meetup-notes/

Running Redis as a User Daemon on OSX With Launchd #MacOS #howto

For those who need it.

AALEKH / credis #CPP #foss

A project that uses hiredis to provide Redis cluster setup and teardown – from Aalekh Nigam @_aalekh

}

Redis Labs

Blog Post: NoSQL NOW! 2015

Analyst Report: (login required) With Redis creator on board and $15m series B, Redis Labs claims role as THE Redis company by Matt Aslett @maslett of 451 Research @451Research

Analyst Report: (login required) Market Guide to NoSQL DBMSs by Nick Heudecker ‏@nheudecker, Merv Adrian ‏@merv and Ehtisham Zaidi @ehtisham_zaidi of Gartner @Gartner_Inc

Questions? Feedback? Anything you want to share? Email or tweet me – I’m highly available 🙂

 

This newsletter was produced and distributed by Redis Labs, Inc.

Redis Labs, Inc. 700E El Camino Real, Suite 170, Mountain View, CA 94041

Archive | Subscribe | Follow on Twitter